Ipsy March 2015

2015-03-11 17.35.50

Okay, I’ll be honest. I’m not really ready for a review of this month’s Ipsy bag. Some of the stuff I got I haven’t even tried yet, and I’m not sure if I will. I will do a quick post on my thoughts

First off, Ipsy recently updated their UI. Looks much better and easier to navigate. There are still some flaws to the site. The one thing I don’t like is that I’m forced to give a review after rating each product. Also, some questions say you’re allowed to select more than one answer, but when you click on answer, nothing happens.

The theme for this month’s bag is floral fantasy. I’m not sure how the items I got are related to floral.

Sexy Hair – Soy Renewal Creme Oil
I’ve used this a couple of times. I noticed by the end of the day my hair feels more oily than when I don’t apply this product. At first I was putting it all over my hair. Then I realized you only need to put it on the ends where it is the most dry. It does the job of nourishing your hair, but the last few days i’ve been forgetting to put it on before I blow dry my hair

Dr. Brandt Skincare – pores no more anti-aging mattifying lotion
It’s an anti-aging facial lotion. I’ve only used it once, and haven’t noticed a difference. I like to use it at night after I wash my face. My face gets really dry after washing it, so this lotion really helped my skin rehydrate. I don’t really like to use it in the morning since I use other products on my face such as a tinted moisturizer.

NYX Cosmetics – Butter Lipstick in Pops
It’s a nice lipstick. Keeps my lips moisturized. It did come off when I was drinking coffee. The only slight downside (if that) was that they sent me a color that was way too close to my natural lip color. I couldn’t tell if it was on. Maybe that’s a good thing?

MARSK – Mineral Eyeshadow in Fifty Shades
Really? “Fifty Shades”? So overplayed. This is a loose eye shadow powder. I haven’t used it yet. I’m not a huge fan of loose powders. It’s a darker shade of grey. I don’t know how to do a smokey eye so they only use I could get out of it is to use it as a liner. Even then, I just don’t really have an interest in using this.

Evelyn Iona Cosmetics – Concealer in Flawless
I love my Em Cosmetics concealer so when I got this, I was kinda hesitant to try it out. Would it be better than Em? It’s different. For one thing, this comes in a pot container. Usually concealers that come in that kind of container are thick. And with my long nails, I can’t really grab the product with my fingers. I need to use a concealer brush. It’s thick but not creamy. It’s a little too much on the yellow tones. The Em concealer is so much better.

It not a bad bag. 3 out of 5 things I would actually use. I just need to use them more often. I’ve been so busy lately that doing these reviews and really taking the time to try the products out are the last thing on my mind.

Leave a comment