13 inch Cambridge Satchel Review

Early last year, I wanted a new bag, but didn’t want to pay designer price for them. I got a cross body bag from target. It was big enough to fit everything i needed. It cheap and almost perfect. It also lasted less than a year. It had a magnetic closure that was some how attached fabric of the purse (it didn’t look like it was sewn on). Some how that ripped off. I tried to take it to my friend’s shop, but they told me they don’t have the tools to fix it. It was so cheap that it just wasn’t worth the time and money to fix it.

My bag broke right when I was out of a job. Perfect timing right? I kept looking online and in stores, but couldn’t find anything I liked or that could fit my needs. I wanted something that wasn’t gonna break on me within a year, but I didn’t want to spend a ton of money on it.

I saw a picture my cousin posted on instagram of her bag. It was a Cambridge Satchel. It was really cute. I did more research on the Cambridge Satchel Company. I found myself frequently going to their website and checking out everyone else’s instagram pictures with the hashtag #cambridgesatchel. I looked up video reviews on YouTube. I knew I had to make the investment. I told myself, if I find a new job, I will get a satchel.

Sure enough I did find a job. I found one weeks before my birthday.

2015-01-22 23.03.35

I got the 13 inch Cambridge Satchel ‘Batchel’ with magnetic closure in a classic red. It’s embossed with my nickname ‘kero’. It arrived a week before my birthday. Overall shipping time was about a week which is really fast considering it was coming from the UK to California.

The Cambridge Satchel Company is all about quality even down to the packaging. The bag is packaged in a nice fabric sack. You could use that sack alone for other things. The sack is then placed in a really nice box. I could have kept it and used it for other things too, but I decided not to keep it.

The bag itself is no joke. Real genuine leather. And I hate the smell of leather. I never liked going inside leather stores because of the smell. But with that smell, you knew it was the real deal. I knew I was going to need to let the bag air out so it wouldn’t smell as much. The bag is very sturdy and made of a stiff leather. Those who reviewed the bag weren’t kidding about how the bag really needs to be broken in. I got a magnetic closure instead of the traditional buckle closure. Most reviewers complained that the most annoying thing about the bag is getting stuff in and out of it. It has real buckles which takes time to undo. Reviewers say they leave it unbuckled for easier access to their items. If you do that, it doesn’t look as pretty and can still leave your stuff vulnerable (especially if you’re in an area where pickpocketing is common). With the magnetic closure, you don’t have to worry about it. The bag looks like the traditional with the buckles, but you don’t have to undo them. The magnet makes it really easy to open. The front has a small window pocket where you could put a business card there, but I leave it alone. It’s more of a decorative statement to me. The back has the Cambridge Satchel logo embossed.

2015-01-24 13.13.43

I was debating if I should get the 11 inch or the 13 inch. I was worried that anything bigger than the 11 inch would look too big and bulky especially with my petite frame. At the same time, I thought the 11 inch might not fit everything I need. The website warns you that due to the shape and sewing of the bag, you actually lose a few inches inside. I went with the 13 inch and I’m glad I did. It’s the perfect size. It fits all I need and it doesn’t look big on me. The straps are removable and adjustable. Even using the last hole on the strap, it hangs low for my short frame, but it still looks good. You could probably punch a few more holes if needed, but I don’t want to ruin my new bag.

2015-02-14 13.05.09

I’m able to fit a lot of stuff in it. On a recent trip to the city I had with me my iPad air, my giant wallet, small tote of makeup, coin purse, 2 phones (my Moto X 2nd Gen and my work phone which is an iPhone 5) my badge, bottled water, keys, and a couple of reusable bags. With it closed, it doesn’t look bulky or bulging. it also doesn’t feel that heavy. I carried it cross body style with me while walking around downtown San Francisco with no problems.

I’ve had it now for about a month. The leather has been broken in. It’s softer, but still firm. It’s not hard as a rock like when I first got it. I have two scratches as well as several smudge marks on my bag. The scratches are annoying, but not that noticeable unless you look for them.

2015-02-14 13.19.26

2015-02-05 06.41.10

Only one weekend I didn’t use it due to rain. I really should get some sort of leather protectant. Some reviews mentioned that especially with the red bags, the color on the leather can transfer to clothing, specifically around the strap. I have not noticed that, thank goodness.

Overall I love this bag. It can hold everything I need, and then some. The magnetic feature make is really easy to get stuff in and out of. I love the color. It’s a vibrant red that really makes the bag a statement piece. I’m seriously thinking of getting the 11 inch in yellow or blue just to have. I think it would be nice to have a smaller bag for date night or for a quick trip to the store. Hubby wasn’t too thrilled with that idea. These bags aren’t that cheap. Embossing a symbol (either a bicycle or a heart) is free. Custom embossing your name is $10 per letter. Sometimes they will do a promotion and offer free embossing. If you are in the U.S, you may be hit with a duty/tax charge from the carrier. We got a $27 bill from FedEx because the bag was shipped from the UK. I wish they would have included it with the order. Was a bit of a shock for us.

I plan to visit London either this year or next. I will definitely make a stop at one of their stores and hopefully get another one to add to my collection.

Leave a comment